## Louisiana Federation of Business & Professional Women 2004-2005 History

On June 12, 2004, at the 85<sup>th</sup> Annual Convention at the Holidome in Kenner, Louisiana, Past State President Anne Storms installed these BPW/Louisiana officers at the Installation Banquet: President Camille Moran, President Elect Angie Wilson, Vice President Judy Wilson, Corresponding Secretary Doris Sanders, Recording Secretary Cynthia Edwards, and Treasurer Marie Eddlemon. The president's theme "Reach for the Stars" challenged her BPW Allstars to Dare to Dream for a Brighter Future Through Visibility, Objectivity, Teamwork and Education.

The appointed committee chairmen were Bylaws Frances Jakes, Finance Alice Barrios, Foundation Wanda Ishmael, Public Relations Kathryn Nizer and Judy Wilson, Young Careerist Desiree Duhon-Dyess, and Individual Development Janis Guyton.

Appointments to Special Committees included Parliamentarian Glenda Prechac, Pelican Editor Rhonda Counselman, *NBWW* Co-Chairs Pat Moses and Claire Runnels,

Agnes Morris Education Loan Fund and LA Education Foundation Linda Burns, Mid Year Conference Linda Burns, NIKE Chair Stephanie Tufaro, State Convention Chairs Anne Storms, Pat Moses, Shelly Appleby, Historian Iona Myers, Scrapbook Phyllis Callahan, Chaplain Lois Ferguson, Legal Advisor Desiree Duhon-Dyess, Rules and Resolutions Kathryn Nizer, Webmaster Doris Sanders, Outreach Coordinator Rhonda Counselman, WOMENomics Chairs Dianne Henrie and Claire Runnels, ERA Coordinator Maria J. Falco, Red Purse Society Chair Cynthia Edwards.

The Past State Presidents on the Board were Linda Dreier, Pat Moses and Linda Burns.

Wendy Perniciaro is the Southeast District Director and Faye Underwood is the Southwest/Central Director.

Following the Sunday breakfast where the Past Presidents Council inducted the newest Past State President Linda Burns, the post-convention board of directors meeting convened. The state directories were distributed to the above members and the local presidents. District meeting dates were planned and announced.

Members who attended the BPW/USA annual conference in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida included Camille Moran, Angie Jackson-Wilson, Judy Wilson, Maria J. Falco, Iona Myers, Bonnie Cook, Kathryn Nizer, Lynette DiFatta, Anne Barrios, and Barbara Leach.

Legislation Day on October 29 preceded the Mid-Year Conference on October 30 at The Holiday Inn Hotel, Lafayette, Louisiana.

Two issues of the *Pelican* went to each member and the President sent out emails and newsletters.

The 2005 Policy and Action Conference of BPW/USA and Interim Board meeting was held in Washington, DC, with BPW Louisiana represented by President Camille Moran, President Elect Angie Jackson-Wilson, and Vice President Judy Wilson.

District meetings were held for the two districts.

The Eighty-Sixth Annual State Convention convened at the Isle of Capri in Lake Charles, June 10-12, 2005, with President Camille Moran presiding. Southwest/Central District was host, with Anne Storms, Pat Moses, and Shelly Appleby serving as Convention chairmen.

Highlights for Friday, June 10, 2005, included the first ever state conference Individual Development program. Chair Janis Guyton worked to have the National Representative Nancy Jackson as the presenter. For others during this time Judy Wilson and Anne Storms moderated the workshop "You Talk, We Listen," where information gathered gave insight into the needs of the federation.

At the "Retro Night" Awards Dinner, Past State President Linda Burns received the Nike Award, the state's highest honor. Other awards presented included honors for programs, membership retention and recruitment, public relations and foundation giving. Details are recorded in the Official Minutes.

During the official business meeting the officers elected to serve with the 2005-2006 President Angie Jackson-Wilson were: President Elect Judy Wilson, Vice President Doris Sanders, Secretary Bonnie P. Cook, Treasurer Desiree Duhon-Dyess. The officers were installed at the Installation Banquet on Saturday evening.

In an email to her All Stars, the president summed up this 2004-2005 experience with these words:

"As we begin a new year, I thank each of you, the 2004-2005 BPW/LA All Stars, for your hard work and devotion to achieving our federation goals this past year. Because of you, we did indeed soar high and reached new heights. I could not have asked for a better Team to work with, and I look forward to working with each of you again, as we strive to make BPW/LA the best it can be. So, until we meet again, please continue to 'Dare to Dream' and always keep 'Reaching for the Stars'!"

Iona R. Myers, Historian 2004-2005

Adopted: